Mobile Broadband Connection Issue - North Melbourne, VIC, 3051

Occasional Poster
Blueandwhite
Accepted Solution

Mobile Broadband Connection Issue - North Melbourne, VIC, 3051

[ Edited ]
by Occasional Poster
Message 1 of 387 (5,575 Views)

In recent weeks I just renewed my contract with Vodafone for another 12 months, after 2 years of very good service in my area from my 3G Mobile Broadband connection. I've been using one of the USB modem connections since March 2009 with no real issues, and used it in many locations in Australia (as i travel frequently for work). About 2 weeks ago when i renewed, I received a Pocketwifi Modem. I also noticed that often in my area now the connection is HSPA as opposed to just 3G.

You would think all of this would be an improvement....  however.. 

- The Pocketwifi device works beautifully when attached to both of my laptops when using them in other suburbs where the connection is still 3G (not HSPA)

- The USB modem device also beautifully when attached to both of my laptops when using them in other suburbs where the connection is still 3G (not HSPA). 

- Both modems will connect easily, and work for approximately 60-120 seconds - then the connection drops out. This only occurs when it is connected to HSPA. When it is connected to just 3G, no drop out occurs. 

- If you start a download (i.e. Youtube, iTunes, *****) within the first 60-120 after you connect, the full download will occur. This means that so long as you are constantly downloading something you stay connected. This does not work when simply downloading pages from a website, but something that requires a high transfer rate. As soon as this finishes, the connection will die again requiring a reconnection.